White House Garden Tour

photo
Here’s the reason why I love social media and working in Washington, DC – for the second time in five months (here is the first trip to the White House) I’ve been given access to take pictures at the White House. How awesome and cool is that? My only other wish would be to have the opportunity to decorate for the holidays but that would make my head explode.
White House Garden Tour 2012
Last week I saw a tweet about the White House’s Google+ page and the opportunity to get up close and personal in the White House garden and to walk the grounds before the garden tour was open to the public on Saturday morning. I was picked for a group of about 25 amateur and some professional photographers to come to the White House on Saturday at 7:45am to snap pictures. We started the first half of the morning taking pictures around the south lawn of the White House and going into Michelle Obama’s garden. Because I love to cook so much I would love to start a garden but I can’t get over dirt or bugs. Oh well. The second half of the day we went to the Eisenhower Executive Office Building and met the president’s photographer, Pete Souza! We also met Mrs. Obama’s photographer, Sonya Hebert earlier in the day. Pete Souza showed us some of his favorite images and talked about his job and how he captures these amazing historical moments. I didn’t get to meet the President or the First Lady but I did meet Bo, the first dog. Hey, I’ll take whatever I can get. Everyone who participated tagged their photos on Google+, Twitter and Instagram as #WHPhotoWalk (I may have written #WHPhotoTour on Instagram…oops!) so you should definitely check out everyone else’s images but I’ll give you mine below, enjoy!
photo
White House Garden Tour 2012
White House Garden Tour 2012
photo
photo
photo
White House Garden Tour 2012
photo
White House Garden Tour 2012
White House Garden Tour 2012
White House Garden Tour 2012
White House Garden Tour 2012
If you’d like to see more of my photos, check out the rest on my Flickr feed.

2 thoughts on “White House Garden Tour

  1. I only have one word for this post: WOW!

    You really got a great look into the sSpring season at the White House. I absolutely love the photos of the staircase. You really captured the beauty of the architecture. Likewise, the shot of the photographers taking pictures of Bo is super cute and inspiring. Funny enough, it reminds me of the “human” side that still sits amidst the political mumbo jumbo on Capitol Hill. :)

    In addition, I really think you should take a look at the growth of your photographic eye from beginning to now. These photos are breathtaking! I’m so glad you had the opportunity to attend (mostly because your readers get to share in the adventure with you). Thanks for posting and continue to click away… Your photos are awesome!

Leave a Reply

